This afternoon, the Big Ten Conference revealed their new logo and the names of the divisions. The Leaders division includes Penn State, Illinois, Indiana, Purdue, Wisconsin and Ohio State. The Legends division includes Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern.

There are a whole lot of new trophies too and they all have hyphenated names. The winner of the championship game is awarded the Stagg-Paterno Trophy, named after Chicago coach Amos Alonzo Stagg and Penn State coach Joe Paterno. I find it amusing that the trophy is named after a coach whose school that left the conference over 60 years ago and somebody who entered only 17 years ago.

My initial reaction is that the division names are a little pretentious, but I am okay with them because they are not named after Woody Hayes and Bo Schembechler like I thought they would be. Naming divisions after a coach who got fired for hitting an opposing player and folded like Superman on laundry day in bowl games, respectively, would have been embarrassing to anyone not from the so-called “big 2” of the conference. I am the Ohio State and Michigan fans are upset which is great for the rest of us. I’m disappointed there is a Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year trophy though.

Penn Staters are included in the names of several trophies:

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year – Courtney Brown
Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year – Ted Kwalick

The linebacker trophy doesn’t include a Penn Stater though which is disappointing. I have no problem with Butkus being on the name, but I’d put several Nittany Lions above Pat Fitzgerald. We’ll just assume the conference needed to meet its Northwestern quota on that one.

The logo proves once again that I need to set up a graphic design firm. The existing Big11Ten logo is clever, this new one is just there.

Author: WFY

Yet another Washingtonian pushing the ubiquitous Nats/DC sports, Penn State, commuting, bicycling, kayaking, broomball, skiing, gin & tonic agenda.

Leave a Reply